NEW ENDORSEMENTS: More Iowa Leaders Declare Support for Theresa Greenfield for U.S. Senate

State Senate Minority Leader Janet Petersen: “Iowans deserve a U.S. Senator who will never back down from fighting for what’s best for our state, and that leader is Theresa Greenfield.”

State Senator Zach Wahls: “Theresa Greenfield will bring a get-it-done attitude and a commitment to equal rights for all Iowans to the U.S. Senate”

Today, U.S. Senate candidate Theresa Greenfield announced new endorsements from prominent Democrats across Iowa in her campaign to challenge vulnerable incumbent Senator Joni Ernst. Theresa’s Senate campaign, which continues to build momentum and grassroots support, announced earlier this month that it had received donations from supporters in each of Iowa’s 99 counties and also recently received the endorsement of former Iowa First Lady Christie Vilsack.

Greenfield for Iowa announced the following new endorsements today:

  • State Senate Minority Leader Janet Petersen
  • State Senator Zach Wahls
  • State Representative Jo Oldson
  • State Representative Sharon Steckman
  • Former State House Minority Leader and Representative Mark Smith
  • Former State Representative Ro Foege
  • Howard County Democratic Party Chair Laura Hubka
  • Gun Sense Activist Amber Gustafson
  • Former Iowa State Education Association President Tammy Wawro

“Iowans deserve a U.S. Senator who will never back down from fighting for what’s best for our state, and that leader is Theresa Greenfield,” said Iowa State Senate Minority Leader Janet Petersen. “Theresa understands the tough challenges Iowa families are going through because she’s faced them too, and she’ll never forget who she’s elected to represent. As our next U. S. Senator, we can count on Theresa to take on the special interests and stand up for Iowans. She’ll fight to protect Social Security and our farming economy, expand access to skills training, decent child care and jobs that pay the bills, invest in our public schools to make them stronger and safer, give Iowans better access to health care, and work to get dark money out of politics.”

“Theresa Greenfield will bring a get-it-done attitude and a commitment to equal rights for all Iowans to the U.S. Senate, and I’m proud to endorse her campaign,” said Iowa State Senator Zach Wahls. “Theresa will always put Iowans first and do what’s right, whether it’s taking on discrimination against LGBTQ Iowans or standing up for living wages and fair benefits for workers. Iowans need a Senator who will work to solve the most pressing challenges of our time, whether it’s the rising cost of prescription drugs and declining access to quality health care or the growing threat of climate change, and Theresa is the right person for the job.”

“I’m honored by the growing support we’re seeing across Iowa, and I’m proud to have earned the support of these public servants and community leaders who work every day on behalf of hardworking Iowans,” said Theresa Greenfield. “I’ve been hearing from folks all across our state who want to know there’s someone in the Senate looking out for them and their families, putting the needs of Iowa ahead of Washington special interests. Together we will continue to build this movement, hold Senator Ernst accountable, and make sure all Iowans get the fair shot and representation they deserve.”

Today’s endorsers join a growing number of local leaders who know Theresa is the best candidate to represent Iowa in the U.S. Senate:

  • Former Iowa First Lady and Education Advocate Christie Vilsack
  • Congressman Dave Loebsack
  • Former Lieutenant Governor Sally Pederson
  • State Senator Pam Jochum
  • State Senator Claire Celsi
  • State Senator Jackie Smith
  • State Representative Heather Matson
  • State Representative Marti Anderson
  • Cedar Rapids City Councilwoman Ashley Vanorny
  • West Des Moines City Councilwoman Renee Hardman
  • Spencer City Councilwoman Leann Jacobsen
  • Linn Phoenix Club Board member Majda Olson
  • Former State Senator Bob Dvorsky
  • Former State Representative Joe Riding
  • Former Iowa Democratic Party Chair Dr. Andy McGuire
  • Former Iowa Democratic Party Chair Sue Dvorsky
  • Former Iowa Democratic Party Executive Director and Current Chair of IDP Women’s Caucus Jean Hessburg
  • President and CEO of Goodwill of Central Iowa Jackie Norris
  • Former AFSCME Political Director Marcia Nichols
  • Polk County Democrats 2019 Volunteer of the Year Shanda Carstens
  • Iowa Political Leader Brenda Kole
  • AFSCME Council 61
  • UFCW Local 431